Post 36 splits games with Las Vegas

FAIRMONT – The Fairmont American Legion Post 36 baseball team split games with the Las Vegas All-Stars during doubleheader action on Thursday at Herb Wolf Field in Fairmont.

The All-Stars, who were on their way to New Ulm for a tournament this weekend, won the first game 9-2 before Fairmont won Game 2 2-1.

Fairmont jumped out to a 2-0 lead thanks to two runs in the third inning.

Las Vegas then rallied for five runs in the fifth inning to take the lead, before adding four more runs in the seventh to take the convincing 9-2 victory.

Clayton Maakestad pitched five innings, allowing five earned runs on 10 hits, striking out five to absorb the loss.

Tyler Tennyson came in and pitched two innings, allowing four earned runs on four hits, walking one and hitting a batter in a relief effort.

Luke Becker led Fairmont with an RBI double and a run scored, while Nate Johnson had a base hit and scored a run.

Jordyn Comphehos and Caeden Marin each had three hits to lead Las Vegas, while Keanu VanKuren and Dominic Paratore each added two hits in the win.

Barry Lasseigne pitched six innings, allowing two runs on five hits, striking out three and walking one to earn the win.

Bryson Scott pitched the final inning for Las Vegas, giving up one hit, striking out two and walking one.

In the second game, again Fairmont took the early lead this time scoring a run in the first inning.

Las Vegas then tied it in the third inning when Scott smacked a triple for one of his two hits.

An RBI double by Alex Tafesh tied the game at 1-1.

Fairmont then bounced back, scoring a run in the bottom of the third to retake the lead and earn the win.

Becker had a hit and scored both of Fairmont’s runs, while Monsen recorded an RBI with a sacrifice fly.

Jack Waletich smacked a triple and Tennyson added a hit.

Becker pitched seven innings, allowing one run on seven hits, striking out four to earn the win.

Fairmont Post 36 (2-5) plays host to Worthington at 5:45 p.m. on Monday at Herb Wolf Field in Fairmont.

Game 1

LV 000 050 4 – 9 14 1

FM 002 000 0 – 2 6 5

Barry Lasseigne (WP), Bryson Scott (7) and Gage Ventura. Clayton Maakestad (LP), Tyler Tennyson (6) and Ben Abel.

LV 001 000 0 – 1 7 3

FM 101 000 x – 2 3 0