Pfingsten nets 2nd, FHS golfers 15th at Albert Lea Invite

ALBERT LEA – It did not matter whether he was teeing up his golf ball at Green Lea Golf Course on Day 1 or hitting the fairways at Wedgewood Cove Golf Club on Day 2, Fairmont senior Mitch Pfingsten finished 1-over par during the two-day Albert Lea Invitational.

Pfingsten carded a 34-39-73 on Friday before penciling in a 38-35-73 on Saturday. Pfingsten’s two-day total of 146 earned him runner-up accolades among the 96-player field and paced Fairmont’s team tournament total of 676 to place 15th.

Joe Nordquist fired a 42-45-87 on the opening day before recording a 43-41-84 on Saturday to finish with the Cardinals’ second-best two-day total of 171.

Sam Havnen and Cole Huinker completed Fairmont’s counting scores. Havnen netted a 44-45-89 before shooting another 89 (47-42) to finish with a 178. Huinker tallied a 50-40-90 on Day 1 before generating a 47-44-91 to close with a 181.

Trason Arens chipped in a 44-46-90, followed by a 46-48-94 en route to a 184 for the Cardinals. Bryan Grotte rounded out Fairmont’s effort by penciling in an opening-day 51-46-97 before adding a 50-48-98 to finish at 195.

Wayzata won the invite’s team title with a 590.

Fairmont competes in the South Central Conference Meet at 9 a.m. Tuesday at Lakeside Golf Course in Waseca.

Iowa Sectional

Parker Oleson fired an 18-hole round of 86 to guide the North Union Warriors to a fifth-place score of 367 during Iowa Class 1A sectional action at Emerald Hills Golf Course at Arnolds Park on Friday.

Nathan Eaton shot an 87 for North Union, while Alex Krantz chipped in a 96 and Colton Nicoson contributed a 98 to round out the counting marks.

Tyler Quinn chipped in a 107 for the Warriors, while Jacob Braddock added a 114.

North Union, who captured the last-ever Corn Belt Conference boys golf championship, finished the season with a 26-20 record.

Estherville-Lincoln Central recorded a 325 to capture top team honors, while Emmetsburg finished just three strokes off the winning pace with a 328 to join ELC in advancing to the Iowa Class 1A district tournament.

Emmetsburg’s Mike Myers (77) won a playoff with Okobiji’s Tyler Ohl (77) for meet medalist honors.