FHS nets 1 silver, 2 bronze at SCC Meet

ST. JAMES – Manuel Martinez captured the silver medal at first singles to pace Fairmont’s effort during Saturday’s South Central Conference tennis meet in St. James.

Martinez, who received the No. 3 seed in his bracket, opened by netting back-to-back 6-1 sets over Blue Earth Area’s Hunter Myers to advance to the semifinals.

The smooth-hitting Martinez then outslugged No. 2-seeded Matt Huber of St. Peter in the semifinals, 7-5, 6-3.

Top-seeded John Lewer of Waseca, however, outdueled Martinez in the championship, 6-3, 6-3.

Tyler Head and Austin Becker each produced bronze medals for Fairmont during No. 3 and No. 4 singles, respectively.

Head posted a first-round 6-1, 6-1 victory over New Ulm’s Tim Haag before St. Peter’s Rafat Solaiman fended off Head during a semifinal slugfest.

Head took the first set 6-0 before Solaiman battled back and edged Head in a second-set tiebreaker 7-6 (7-5). Solaiman then won the supertiebreaker 10-4 to advance to the finals.

Head bounced back to roll to a 6-1, 6-0 triumph over St. James’ Sandin Skow in the third-place match, while Waseca’s Ben Johnson downed Solaiman for the No. 3 singles gold medal, 6-2, 6-4.

Becker netted the No. 2 seed and a first-round bye before squaring off against Waseca’s Matt Wendland in the semifinals.

Becker captured the opening set 6-3 before Wendland rallied to even the match via a 6-4 second-set win. Wendland then outlasted Becker in a supertiebreaker, 10-5.

Becker regrouped to post a 6-1, 6-1 victory over New Ulm’s Joel Kolpin in the third-place match, while Wendland went on to outslug top-seeded Drew Elofson of St. Peter for the No. 4 singles gold medal, 2-6, 6-4, 6-4.

St. James’ Zeke Haugen won the No. 2 singles crown, while St. Peter’s Alex Willson and Ben Gault combined forces to net the No. 1 doubles championship. St. Peter’s Joseph More and Avery Bachman captured the gold medal at No. 2 doubles, while Waseca’s Marcus DeKruif and Andy Haley claimed the No. 3 doubles crown.

No. 4-seeded Fairmont (5-8) hosts No. 5-seeded St. James at 4:30 p.m. today in a Section 2A Team Meet quarterfinal match at Cardinal Courts.

No. 7-seeded Blue Earth Area faces No. 2-seeded St. Peter in today’s 4:30 p.m. Section 2A Team Meet quarterfinals in St. Peter.



Singles Bracket

No. 1: Championship: John Lewer (Waseca) d. Manuel Martinez (Fairmont) 6-3, 6-3. 3rd Place: Matt Huber (St. Peter) d. John Foss (St. James) 6-2, 6-2. 5th Place: Hunter Myers (Blue Earth Area) d. Cal Collum (New Ulm) 6-4, 2-6, (11-9).

No. 2: Championship: Zeke Haugen (SP) d. Connor Olson (SJ), 6-7 (5-7), 6-1, 6-1. 3rd: Josh Kolpin (NU) d. Ryan VonEnde (W) 6-1, 6-3. 5th: Sterlin Johnson (F) d. Leon Chaudhari (BEA) 6-3, 2-6, (10-4).

No. 3: Championship: Ben Johnson (W) d. Rafat Solaiman (SP) 6-2, 6-4. 3rd: Tyler Head (F) d. Sandin Skow (SJ) 6-1, 6-0. 5th: Chandler Kienitz (BEA) v. Tim Haag (NU).

No. 4: Championship: Matt Wendland (W) d. Drew Elofson (SP) 2-6, 6-4, 6-4. 3rd: Austin Becker (F) d. Joel Kolpin (NU) 6-1, 6-1. 5th: Brandon Hjelmer (SJ) d. Spencer Timmerman, 6-0, 6-1.

Doubles Bracket

No. 1: Championship: Alex Willson-Ben Gault (SP) d. Josh Kimball-Josh Metzdorff (W) 6-3, 7-6 (7-5). 3rd: Nic Gartner-Noah Stocker (NU) d. Carter Klanderud-Henrique Marquez (F) 6-7 (4-7), 6-3, (10-6). 5th: Connor Engel-Will Runge (SJ) d. Jaron King-Martin Granados (BEA) 6-1, 7-5.

No. 2: Championship: Joseph More-Avery Bachman (SP) d. Cole Skow-Colin Hoppe (SJ) 6-3, 6-3. 3rd: Dakota Johnson-Michael Butterfield (W) d. Ryan Busche-Mitch Anderton (F) 7-5, 6-3. 5th: Justus Thelen-Spencer Peterson (BEA) d. Taylor Tambornino-John Goodall (NU) 6-3, 6-4.

No. 3: Championship: Andy Haley-Marcus DeKruif (W) d. Aaron Leeb-Kaelan Weiss (SP) 6-3, 6-4. 3rd: Cameron Giese-Aaron Plyum (SJ) d. Jake Kallenbach-Tony Joseph (F) 6-4, 6-2. 5th: Mason Hehr-Parker Kienitz (BEA) vs. Earl Foster-Kelby Stocker (NU).