Fairmont sweeps singles to down New Prague

NEW PRAGUE – The Fairmont Cardinals bounced back from a pair of weekend losses and swept the singles bracket on Monday to ease by the New Prague Trojans 6-1 during nonconference boys tennis action in New Prague.

Manuel Martinez and Sterlin Johnson shut out their opponents in the first and second singles matches, taking two points easily for the Cardinals.

Martinez blanked Max Wicklander 6-0, 6-0, while Johnson zipped Elliott Kazlauskas 6-0, 6-0.

Tyler Head came close to blanking his opponent, Tony Larson, at third singles, winning 6-0, 6-1.

Austin Becker completed the Fairmont singles sweep with a 6-2, 6-1 win over Max Buccelli.

Henrique Marquez and Carter Klanderud teamed at first doubles to beat Kyle Rookaird and Nathan Zweber, 6-4, 6-2.

Ryan Busche and Mitch Anderton then claimed the final match point for the Cardinals, outlasting Jake McGeorge and Tanner Milinkovic at third doubles. Busche and Anderton won the opening set 6-2 before McGeorge and Milinkovic bounced back to take the second set 6-4.

In a super tiebreaker for the third set, Busche and Anderton cruised to a 10-1 win to claim the match.

Eric Morris and Cody Gebur gave the Trojans their lone point at second doubles. Morris and Gebur downed Jake Kallenbach and Tony Joseph 6-3, 6-0.

Fairmont (3-6, 1-3 SCC) plays host to Redwood Valley in a nonconference dual meet at 4:30 p.m. today at Cardinal Courts in Fairmont.


Fairmont 6, New Prague 1

Singles: Manuel Martinez (F) def. Max Wicklander, 6-0, 6-0. Sterlin Johnson (F) def. Elliott Kazlauskas, 6-0, 6-0. Tyler Head (F) def. Tony Larson, 6-0, 6-1. Austin Becker (F) def. Max Buccelli, 6-2, 6-1.

Doubles: Henrique Marquez-Carter Klanderud (F) def. Kyle Rookaird-Nathan Zweber, 6-4, 6-2. Eric Morris-Cody Gebur (NP) def. Jake Kallenbach-Tony Joseph, 6-3, 6-0. Ryan Busche-Mitch Anderton (F) def. Jake McGeorge-Tanner Milinkovic, 6-2, 4-6, (10-1).


Doubles: Nathan Warnemunde-Alex Masberg (NP) def. Calvin King-Andy Hagen, 8-5. Tristan Friendshuh-Jacob Strand (NP) def. Shawn Busche-Kellen Rodriguez, 8-2. Logan Hallet-James Blanchard (NP) def. Connor Madsen-Eric Head, 8-2. Calvin King-Andy Hagen (F) def. Colin Smisek-Calvin Rezac, 9-7. Brennan Hallet-Kyle Schoenbauer (NP) def. Shawn Busche-Kellen Rodriguez, 8-2. Max Kjos-Andy Siebenaller (NP) def. Shawn Busche-Kellen Rodriguez, 8-3. Maurice VanEpps-Tony Erickson (NP) def. Connor Madsen-Eric Head, 8-2. Wyatt Gaulke-Vinh Klinzing (NP) def. Connor Madsen-Eric Head, 8-1. Bryce Berglund-Mason VanEpps (NP) def. Cristo Washa-Colin Stone, 8-0. Ryan Smisek-Mike Sanchez (NP) def. Cristo Washa-Colin Stone, 8-0.