Bucs pin way to semifinals

BLUE EARTH – The Section 2A, No. 2-seeded Blue Earth Area Bucs took five forfeits and earned six other match victories to sail by the No. 7-seeded St. Clair/Mankato Loyola Cyclones during team action on Thursday in Blue Earth.

The Bucs (23-5) advance to face the No. 6-seeded United South Central Rebels in the Section 2A team semifinals at 2 p.m. Saturday in New Richland.

The Rebels (14-9) advanced to face the Bucs with a 34-28 win over the No. 3-seeded Maple River on Thursday in Mapleton.

The Cyclones advanced to face the Bucs with a 44-24 win over No. 10-seeded Blooming Prairie on Thursday in Blue Earth.

“We didn’t want to underestimate them (the Cyclones) – we know that they have some good wrestlers,” said Blue Earth Area head coach Randy Wirtjes. “I wanted us to come out and wrestle with intensity and I thought we did that.”

The Bucs capitalized with five straight victories to open up the dual meet against the Cyclones.

Adam Legred opened the meet with a pin of Dylan Rasmussen just 1:13 into the 106-pound match.

Zach Buseman then needed just 20 seconds into the second period to earn a 17-2 technical fall over Gage Baker at 113 pounds.

Matt Goodrich then followed his teammates’ examples with a pin of David Loeffler in 1:19 at 120 pounds.

Camden Bowers and Alec Huber then completed the Bucs’ opening match victories with a pair of decisions.

Bowers held a 5-2 lead through a scoreless second period, before taking down Jordan Goebel with a 7-3 victory at 126 pounds.

Meanwhile, Huber fended off Bryce Flowers in an 8-6 battle at 132 pounds. Huber had a 4-2 lead after the first, but a quick reversal by Flowers from the down position evened the score. Huber then spun around to a two-point reversal to take the lead going into the third.

In the third, Huber scored first on a reversal, but Flowers took two points with a penalty and an esape to get within two. The Bucs’ 132-pounder held off the Cyclone for the 8-6 win.

Jordan Stelter and Mike Ankeny then took a pair of victories by forfeit at 138 and 145 pounds, respectively.

“They have some good wrestlers through the middle of their lineup, one of them didn’t wrestle tonight. But we were able to get some nice wins,” said Wirtjes. “It would have been nice to get everyone a match tonight to help them get ready for Saturday, but at least we’re moving on.”

Class A, No. 8-ranked 152-pounder Chance Oftedahl then captured the first of the Cyclones’ two match victories to make it 35-6.

Oftedahl pinned Luke Schavey in 3:45 for the six team points.

Gage Thom, who’s ranked No. 10 at 170, dropped down a weight class to continue the Cyclones’ winning roll with a 7-2 win over No. 10-ranked 160-pounder Gus Phillips at 160 pounds.

After a scoreless first period, Thom took a 3-0 lead after nearly pinning Phillips in the second. In the third, Thom struck first again, scoring a point for an escape for starting in the neutral position to go up 4-0 before Phillips responded with a takedown to cut the lead in half.

Thom escaped from Phillips’ takedown for a point, before taking down Phillips for the final two points of the match to make it 35-9.

The Bucs then took three straight wins by forfeit: Class A, No. 8-ranked 170-pounder David Franta at 170 pounds, Kolt Gorg at 182 pounds and Jacob Johnson at 195 pounds.

Jared Armon shut out Tanner Hauser 5-0 in the 220-pound match for the Bucs.

Class A, No. 4-ranked 285-pounder Martin Granados then capped the victory with a win by forfeit at heavyweight.

Blue Earth Area 62,

St. Clair/Loyola 9

106: Adam Legred (BEA) pinned Dylan Rasmussen, 1:13.

113: Zach Buseman (BEA) technical fall Gage Baker, 17-2, 2:20.

120: Matt Goodrich (BEA) pinned David Loeffler, 1:19.

126: Camden Bowers (BEA) dec. Jordan Goebel, 7-3.

132: Alec Huber (BEA) dec. Bryce Flowers, 8-6.

138: Jordan Stelter (BEA) won by forfeit.

145: Mike Ankeny (BEA) won by forfeit.

152: Chance Oftedahl (STC) pinned Luke Schavey, 3:45.

160: Gage Thom (STC) dec. Gus Phillips, 7-2.

170: David Franta (BEA) won by forfeit.

182: Kolt Gorg (BEA) won by forfeit.

195: Jacob Johnson (BEA) won by forfeit.

220: Jared Armon (BEA) dec. Tanner Hauser, 5-0.

285: Martin Granados (BEA) won by forfeit.

Section 4A Meet

The No. 6-seeded Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther Jayhawk wrestling team took nine forfeits and cruised by the No. 11-seeded Minneapolis North Polars during Section 4A team playoff action on Thursday in St. James.

The No. 3-seeded St. James Saints then eased by the Jayhawks 54-19 to advance to the section semifinals.

The Saints (10-5) advance to face No. 2-seeded Sibley East at 2 p.m. Saturday at Norwood-Young America.

Sibley East (20-7) advanced with a 60-16 win over No. 7-seeded Le Sueur-Henderson.

The Jayhawks finished their team season with a 6-11 record.

The Polars ended the year with an 0-10 record.

The Jayhawks captured four match victories in their quarterfinal match against the Saints, but it was not enough to overcome the home team.

Jerimiah Colon pinned Joe Dominguez at the 2:50 mark of the 126-pound match, before Justin Gifferson fought off Max Mvalland in a 16-9 decision at 132 pounds for the Jayhawks.

Steve Tierney added the Jayhawks’ third win at 170 pounds, earning a 13-2 major decision over Alejandro Lara.

Class A, No. 6-ranked 195-pounder Jake Denn the capped the Jayhawks’ winning efforts with a pin of Ethan Stick 22 seconds into the second period at 195 pounds.

In their opening match against the Polars, Zack Petterson got the Jayhawks’ lone pin during the 145-pound match.

Petterson needed just 1:06 to press the Polars’ sophomore Aaron Mclaurin shoulders to the mat for the victory.

Kenny Reed then captured the Polars’ only victory of the match at 152 pounds.

Reed outlasted Jesus Lopez for a 13-9 decision to help the Polars avoid the shutout.

MTML 60,

Minneapolis North 3

106: Mike McLaughlin (MTML) won by forfeit.

113: Cole Pietsch (MTML) won by forfeit.

120: Grant Koehler (MTML) won by forfeit.

126: Jerimiah Colon (MTML) won by forfeit.

132: Justin Gifferson (MTML) won by forfeit.

138: Jordan Osborne (MTML) won by forfeit.

145: Zack Pettersen (MTML) pinned Aaron Mclaurin, 1:06.

152: Kenny Reed (MN) dec. Jesus Lopez, 13-9.

160: Weston Ricard (MTML) won by forfeit.

170: Steve Tierney (MTML) won by forfeit.

182: double forfeit.

195: Jake Denn (MTML) won by forfeit.

220: double forfeit.

285: double forfeit.

St. James 54, MTML 19

106: Sam Kulseth (SJ) pinned Mike McLaughlin, 0:24.

113: Mario Garcia (SJ) dec. Cole Pietsch, 5-2.

120: Angel Zamarripa (SJ) pinned Grant Koehler, 0:16.

126: Jerimiah Colon (MTML) pinned Joe Dominguez, 2:50.

132: Justin Gifferson (MTML) dec. Max Svalland, 16-9.

138: Tyler Westman (SJ) pinned Jordan Osborne, 1:02.

145: Kody Curry (SJ) pinned Zack Pettersen, 3:10.

152: Josh Stordalen (SJ) pinned Jesus Lopez, 0:17.

160: Simon Beck (SJ) dec. Weston Ricard, 7-2.

170: Steve Tierney (MTML) maj. dec. Alejandro Lara, 13-2.

182: Chris Johnson (SJ) won by forfeit.

195: Jake Denn (MTML) pinned Ethan Stick, 2:22.

220: Colin Hoppe (SJ) won by forfeit.

285: Andrew Kinnetz (SJ) won by forfeit.