B.E. Area wrestles to invite title

LUVERNE – The Blue Earth Area Bucs swept throught the Luverne Invitational, winning all four dual meets on Saturday in Luverne.

The Bucs cruised by Worthington 47-23, beat Pipestone Area 44-22 and eased by Sioux Falls Lincoln 72-6. Blue Earth Area then held off Wabasso/Red Rock Central for a 29-26 fourth-round win.

The Bucs had four wrestlers go undefeated in the tournamet to pace the team to its victories.

Blue Earth Area sophomore Adam Legred won all four of his 106-pound matches, including a 16-5 major-decision win over Class AA, No. 9-ranked 106-pounder Hser Eh Pwae from Worthington in the opening match.

Alec Huber finished 3-0 on the day, while Mike Ankeny and Gus Phillips each tallied 4 wins with no losses.

In addition to his stellar start to the tournament, Legred snuck past Pipestone’s David Berger for a 6-5 decision, before winning the third match by forfeit.

The sophomore then capped off his day with a 9-4 win over Wabasso/Red Rock Central Rabbit wrestler Tyson Doubler.

Huber pinned the Trojans’ Jeffery Camacho at 2:52 in the 132-pound match, before pinning Pipestone’s Jacoby Hunt at 1:01 in the second-round match.

Huber’s third and final win came off an 11-3 major decision over the Rabbits’ Derek Christians.

Ankeny finished his day 4-0, after starting with a pin of the Trojans’ King Blanchette at 1:25 in the 138-pound match.

The Buc junior then pinned Pipestone’s Jacob Haubrich at 2:29 in the 138-pound match and then followed that up with a pin of Sioux Fall Lincoln’s Austin Hennings in just 47 seconds.

Ankeny finished off the tournament with an 11-0 shut out of the Rabbits’ Caleb Kemp at 138 pounds.

Phillips likewise finished with a 4-0 tournament appearance.

Phillips took a 20-10 major decision over Class AA, No. 6-ranked 160-pounder Zach Kempema in the 160-pound match of the Worthington dual.

Phillips then generated a 12-2 major decision over Pipestone’s Allan Hachmann, before pinning Sioux Falls Lincoln’s Niro Jalandra in 1:43.

Phillips wrapped up the day with a pin of the Rabbits’ Josh Mattison at 1:30 in the 160-pound match.

Class A, No. 8-ranked 170-pounder David Franta, finished 3-1 in the tournament.

Franta took home a pair of forfeit victories, in addition to beating Pipestone’s Will Smith in a 14-6 major decision.

The Rabbits’ 170-pounder Jordan Schroepfter handed Franta his only loss in a 7-1 decision.

Class A, No. 5-ranked 285-pounder Martin Granados also finished the day with a trio of wins to go with one loss.

Granados pinned Worthington’s Trevor Wietzemza in 45 seconds, before pinning the Arrows’ Derik Evans in 45 seconds.

The third pin from the Buc 285-pounder came against Sioux Fall Lincoln wrestler Brandon Sylasa at 1:29.

The lone loss for the Buc came at the hands of Class A, No. 1-ranked 285-pounder Alex Schroepfer from Wabasso/Red Rock Central.

The Rabbit grappler fended off Granados for the 9-3 win.

The Trojans’ Class AA, No. 2-ranked 126-pounder Anthony Luft pinned the Bucs’ Camden Bowers in their 126-pound matchup.

Carson Hagen, the Class AA, No. 2-ranked 195-pounder also earned a victory for the Trojans in the dual.

Hagen took down Jacob Johnson in an 11-2 decision at 195 pounds.

The Class A, No. 2-ranked 113-pounder, Spencer Jenniges from WRRC pinned the Bucs’ Matt Goodrich in the final 17 seconds of the 120-pound match during the team dual.

Blue Earth Area (21-5) travels to take on St. James in a South Central Conference wrestling match at 6 p.m. on Friday in St. James.

Blue Earth Area 47, Worthington 23

106: Adam Legred (BEA) maj. dec. Hser Eh Pwae, 16-5. 113: Hser Moo Pwae (WOR) dec. Zach Buseman, 10-5. 120: Matt Goodrich (BEA) pinned Eh Kyoo, 5:44. 126: Anthony Luft (WOR) pinned Camden Bowers, 3:43. 132: Alec Huber (BEA) pinned Jeffery Camacho, 2:52. 138: Mike Ankeny (BEA) pinned King Blanchette, 1:25. 145: Jordan Stelter (BEA) pinned Cody Michelson, 1:17. 152: Luke Schavey (BEA) maj. dec. Vince Riley, 10-2. 160: Gus Phillips (BEA) maj. dec. Zach Kempema, 20-10. 170: David Franta (BEA) won by forfeit. 182: Blake Schroeder (WOR) pinned Kolt Gorg, 1:01. 195: Carson Hagen (WOR) maj. dec. Jacob Johnson, 11-2. 220: Jared Armon (BEA) dec. Peter Abraham, 11-8. 285: Martin Granados (BEA) pinned Trevor Wietzema, 0:45.

Blue Earth Area 44, Pipestone Area 22

106: Legred (BEA) dec. David Berger, 6-5. 113: Michael Suda (P) pinned Cole Klinkner, 1:59. 120: Garrett Ploeger (P) dec. Buseman, 6-2. 126: Bowers (BEA) dec. Bill Olsen, 9-7. 132: Huber (BEA) pinned Jacoby Hunt, 1:01. 138: Ankeny (BEA) pinned Jacob Haubrich, 2:29. 145: Walker Kor (P) maj. dec. Stelter, 16-2. 152: Brady Bos (P) dec. Schavey, 5-1. 160: Phillips (BEA) maj. dec. Allan Hachmann, 12-2. 170: Franta (BEA) maj. dec. Will Smith, 14-6. 182: Gorg (BEA) pinned Jacob Gelderman, 4:36. 195: Johnson (BEA) pinned Cole Staples, 3:22. 220: Blake Wolters (P) pinned Armon, 3:35. 285: Granados (BEA) pinned Derik Evans, 0:45.

Blue Earth Area 72, Sioux Falls Lincoln 6

106: Legred (BEA) won by forfeit. 113: Buseman (BEA) pinned Brandon Bedell, 1:29. 120: Goodrich (BEA) won by forfeit. 126: Bowers (BEA) pinned Omari Bous, 1:46. 132: double forfeit. 138: Ankeny (BEA) pinned Austin Hennings, 0:47. 145: Stelter (BEA) pinned Luke Jamison, 2:36. 152: Schavey (BEA) pinned Malik Paulson, 1:55. 160: Phillips (BEA) pinned Niro Jalandra, 1:43. 170: Franta (BEA) won by forfeit. 182: Logan Pfeifer (SFL) pinned Gorg, 0:40. 195: Johnson (BEA) won by forfeit. 220: Armon (BEA) pinned Ali Boukari, 1:13. 285: Granados (BEA) pinned Brandon Sylasa, 1:29.

Blue Earth Area 29, Wabasso/Red Rock Central 26

106: Legred dec. Tyson Doubler, 9-4. 113: Buseman (BEA) dec. Jared Schroepfer, 11-8. 120: Spencer Jenniges (WRRC) pinned Goodrich, 5:43. 126: Mitchell Fulton (WRRC) maj. dec. Bowers, 11-3. 132: Huber (BEA) maj. dec. Derek Christians, 11-3. 138: Ankeny (BEA) maj. dec. Caleb Kemp, 11-0. 145: Cole Anderson (WRRC) dec. Stelter, 5-1. 152: Josh Altermatt (WRRC) dec. Schavey, 7-0. 160: Phillips (BEA) pinned Josh Mattison, 1:30. 170: Jordan Schroepfer (WRRC) dec. Franta, 7-1. 182: Gorg (BEA) pinned Tristen Wenisch, 3:26. 195: Johnson (BEA) dec. Cody Coulter, 6-3. 220: Jared Welch (WRRC) maj. dec. Armon, 19-8. 285: Alex Schroepfer (WRRC) dec. Granados, 9-3.