Weber finishes 2nd at tourney

REDWOOD FALLS – Fairmont/Martin County West senior Joe Weber wrestled his way to a second-place finish to top the Red Bulls in a 14th-place team finish at the 4th Annual Redwood River Riot on Friday and Saturday in Redwood Falls.

Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther’s Jake Denn earned a fourth-place showing to top the Jayhawks’ 18th-place team effort in the tournament.

Weber, the Class AA, No. 8-ranked 152-pounder, earned a first-round bye.

Weber then pinned St. James’ Josh Stordalen at one minute 34 seconds in the second round of the 152-pound bracket.

Weber advanced to face Tri City United’s Mason Rutt, who he beat in a 9-4 decision.

That victory put Weber against the Class A, No. 7-ranked 152-pounder Mitch Wentzlaff from Sibley East. The Red Bull co-captain downed Wentzlaff 5-2 in the semifinal match.

Weber then faced United South Central’s Class A, No. 4-ranked 152-pounder Derek Herman in the finals.

Herman scored a takedown for two points, and Weber was awarded a point for an escape, but the Rebel held off Weber for the 2-1 victory for the championship.

Meanwhile, Denn also earned a first-round bye in the 195-pound bracket for the Jayhawks before pinning the Rebels’ Issac Hernandez in 34 seconds in the second round.

Then, with 47 seconds left in the quarterfinal match, Denn pinned New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva’s Keith Maxon to advance to the semifinals.

Class AAA, No. 1-ranked 195-pounder Justin Cumberbatch from Alexandria was awaiting Denn in the semis, and the top-ranked Cumberbatch held off Denn for the 7-6 win.

In the third-place bracket, Denn beat Canby’s Cole Regnier in a 7-4 decision, before facing Class A, No. 5-ranked 195-pounder Casey Decker from Maple River for third place.

Decker earned the one-point victory for the bronze finish, beating Denn 5-4.

Cumberbatch advanced to face Class AA, No. 3-ranked 195-pounder Carson Hagen from Worthington in the 195-pound finals. The Trojan claimed a 3-2 win over over Cumberbatch in overtime for the title.

Fairmont/Martin County West travels to wrestle in the Maple River Invite on Saturday, Jan. 4 in Mapleton.

Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther will travel to wrestle in the LeRoy-Ostrander Invite at 9 a.m. on Saturday, Jan. 4 in LeRoy.

Redwood River Riot

(Dec. 20 & 21)

in Redwood Valley

Team Results: 1. Sibley East 154, 2. Maple River 148.5, 3. United 142, 4. Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 133.5, 5. Worthington 129, 6. Canby 127, 7. Wabasso/Red Rock Central 126.5, 8. New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva 114, 9. Alexandria 113.5, 10. Tri City United 107.5, 10. United South Central 107.5, 12. Rocori 104, 13. Sartell 100, 14. Fairmont/Martin County West 71, 15. Buffalo 66, 16. Quad County 64.5, 17. Litchfield 57, 18. Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther 51, 19. St. James 48.5, 20. Redwood Valley 45, 21. LeSueur-Henderson 43.5, 22. River Valley 42, 23. Marshall/Lakeview 40, 24. Fulda/Murray County Central 37, 25. Mankato West 33, 26. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove 27, 27. Minneapolis South 22, 28. St. Paul Johnson 16.5, 29. St. Paul Humboldt 0.

Individual Results

106: Championship: Rylee Moltior (S) maj. dec. Hser Eh Pwae (W), 13-5. 3rd Place: Ben Bogart (A) dec. Peyton Mortenson (U), 4-1. 5th Place: Charlie DesMarais (B) pinned Mario Garcia (SJ), 4:40.

113: Championship: Tanner Pasvogel (SE) dec. Adam Kunz (R), 8-2. 3rd Place: Dillon Kubiatowicz (NRHEG) pinned Wyatt Johansen (C), 1:49. 5th Place: Toby Semler (M) dec. Lincoln Arndt (MR), 6-2.

120: Championship: Spencer Jenniges (WRRC) dec. Austin Anderly (LSH), 8-6, OT. 3rd Place: Jake Frenholz (S) dec. Trey Wigand (MR), 4-2. 5th Place: Nick Erbes (M) won by injury default.

126: Championship: Anthony Luft (W) pinned Ben Blanchette (FMCC), 3:17. 3rd Place: Colten Specht (QC) dec. Dylan Kriese (A), 5-4. 5th Place: Quentin Beiningen (C) maj. dec. Jordan Bothun (U), 9-1.

132: Championship: Jason Meyer (SE) dec. Tyler Jones (L), 5-3. 3rd Place: Cody Peters (KMS) dec. Logan Axford (TMBWWG), 7-4. 5th Place: Trent Piepenburg (A) pinned Spencer Sulflow (U), 1:47.

138: Championship: Austin Brockhoff (SE) dec. Jordan Engler (KMS), 9-4. 3rd Place: Sam Baier (RIV) dec. Cody Buermann (R), 6-4, OT. 5th Place: Russel Caldwell (MR) won by injury default.

145: Championship: Dylan Herman (USC) pinned Nick Warne (R), 3:40. 3rd Place: Noah Greenfield (MR) dec. Max Arroyo (TCU), 3-2. 5th Place: Jack Citrowske (C) dec. Kirby Winson (QC), 7-3.

152: Championship: Derek Herman (USC) dec. Joe Weber (F/MCW), 2-1. 3rd Place: Mitch Wentzlaff (SE) dec. Zach Motschke (S), 7-2. 5th Place: Mason Rutt (TCU) dec. Dustin Neu (A), 10-3.

160: Championship: Aaron Trio (MR) pinned Zach Kempema (W), 1:05. 3rd Place: Keith Abraham (U) dec. Tyler Logan (NRHEG), 8-2. 5th Place: Jake Wentzlaff (SE) pinned Marko Arroyo (TCU), 2:39.

170: Championship: Zach Carlson (KMS) dec. Josh Selly (TCU), 7-3. 3rd Place: Jordan Schroepfer (WRRC) dec. Dillon Parpart (NRHEG), 10-6. 5th Place: Joe WEeding (U) dec. Blake Schroeder (W), 5-4.

182: Championship: Colten Carlson (USC) dec. Christian Full (C), 8-2. 3rd Place: Seth Klein (R) dec. Tim Krueger (RIV), 6-4. 5th Place: Anthony Quigley (U) dec. Josh Whitesell (SPJ), 3-1.

195: Championship: Carson Hagen (W) dec. Justin Cumberbatch (A), 3-2, OT. 3rd Place: Casey Decker (MR) dec. Jake Denn (MTML), 5-4. 5th Place: Cole Regnier (C) pinned Keith Maxon (NRHEG), 3:40.

220: Championship: Nathan Rose (SE) dec. Adam Treptau (B), 4-0. 3rd Place: Tyler Olson (MR) dec. Max Kaping (L), 8-4. 5th Place: Chase Norton (KMS) pinned Luis Figueroa (F/MCW), 3:10.

285: Championship: Alex Schroepfer (WRRC) pinned Tyler Hoffman (R), 1:10. 3rd Place: Alex Burns (TCU) dec. Jake Russel (MW), 3-0. 5th Place: Jake Lehmann (U) dec. Logan Zaske (RWV), 5-2.