Red Bulls rally past Cyclones

ST. CLAIR – Nathan Gillis won a pivotal decision at 182 pounds to help trigger Fairmont/Martin County West’s meet-ending run of four straight decisions to cap the Red Bulls’ 43-31 comeback wrestling victory over the St. Clair/Mankato Loyola Cyclones on Friday night in St. Clair.

The Cyclones combined consecutive wins by Dylan Boettcher, Class A No. 5-ranked 152-pounder Chance Oftedahl and No. 9-ranked 170-pounder Gage Thorn to transform a 24-18 deficit into a 13-point edge through the 170-pound match.

Gillis then posted a 7-4 decision over John Goebel to whittle the Red Bulls’ gap to 31-27 before Class AA No. 9-ranked 195-pounder Kory Brown and FHS/MCW teammate Luis Figueroa received forfeits at 195 and 220, respectively.

Red Bulls’ heavyweight Mark Washa then closed out the Valley Conference dual meet by earning a 14-2 major decision over Tanner Hauser.

Collin Steuber (113), Chris Ettesvold (120) and Christopher Krenz (132) each produced falls for the Red Bulls, while teammate Elijah Gronewold received a forfeit at 145.

Dylan Rasmussen (106), David Loeffler (126), Bryce Flowers (138) and Thorn (170) each generated pins to highlight the Cyclones’ performance on the mat.

Boettcher edged Class AA No. 8-ranked 152-pounder Joe Weber of FHS/MCW during 152-pound action, 3-1, while St. Clair/Loyola’s Oftedahl moved to 160 to post an 11-3 major decision over Tanner Lange.

Thorn then pinned Phillip Bowie in 2:21 during 170-pound action to give the Cyclones their final lead of the team competition.

Fairmont/Martin County West (5-1) competes in the Redwood Valley Invitational next Friday and Saturday in Redwood Falls.


Fairmont/MCW 43, St. Clair/Loyola 31

106 pounds: Dylan Rasmussen (SCL) pinned Christian Hugget, 3:35.

113: Collin Steuber (FHS/MCW) pinned Gage Baker, 0:39.

120: Chris Ettesvold (FHS/MCW) pinned Aaron Drummer, 1:47.

126: David Loeffler (SCL) pinned Alberto Olivarez, 3:58.

132: Christopher Krenz (FHS/MCW) pinned Jordan Goebel, 0:43.

138: Bryce Flowers (SCL) pinned Kolin Kelly, 4:08.

145: Elijah Gronewold (FHS/MCW) won by forfeit.

152: Dylan Boettcher (SCL) dec. Joe Weber, 3-1.

160: Chance Oftedahl (SCL) major dec. Tanner Lange, 11-3.

170: Gage Thorn (SCL) pinned Phillip Bowie, 2:21.

182: Nathan Gillis (FHS/MCW) dec. John Goebel, 7-4.

195: Kory Brown (FHS/MCW) won by forfeit.

220: Luis Figueroa (FHS/MCW) won by forfeit.

285: Mark Washa (FHS/MCW) major dec. Tanner Hauser, 14-2.