MCW 1st, 2nd at Valley

MANKATO – The Martin County West Mavericks defended half of their Valley Conference titles from last season in the conference meet on Tuesday in Mankato.

The Class A, No. 4-ranked MCW boys team raced to a first-place finish with the help of four top-10 finishers, while the Maverick girls captured second-place honors in the meet.

Jonah Mayo ran for a second-place time of 16 minutes, 50 seconds to pace the Mavs’ winning effort.

Matt Viesselman raced to fifth place in 17:10, while Dylan Brockman finished seventh in 17:37.

Josh Bjerken crossed the finish line with a time of 17:59 to grab ninth place, giving the top four boys all-Valley honors for the meet.

Nick Holm ran a time of 18:07 for 14th place and teammates Chris Kahler and Ramon Bowie completed the team score with times of 18:23 and 19:05 for 19th and 34th place.

For the girls, Morgan Larson, Brooke Anderson, Whitney Smith and Sara Carlson each earned all-Valley honors with their top finishes to pace a second-place team finish.

Larson and Anderson placed third and fourth in 15:40 and 15:45, respectively, for the Mavericks.

Smith crossed the finish line in 16:25 for eighth, while Carlson completed the race in 16:53 for 13th.

Jessica Borg and Nicole Smith placed 31st and 34th in 18:10 and 18:28, respectively, to complete the Mavericks’ team score.

Martin County West competes in the Section 2A Meet at 4 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 24, at the Montgomery Golf Course in Montgomery.

Valley Conference Meet


Team Standings: 1. Mankato Loyola 56; 2. Martin County West 59; 3. Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial 82; 4. United South Central 85; 5. Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton 98; 6. Maple River 128; 7. Blooming Prairie 195; 8. Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther 198; 9. New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva 216. Incomplete team: Medford.


Team Standings: 1. MCW 37; 2. Mankato Loyola 76; 3. LCWM 82; 4. USC 108; 5. Blooming Prairie 133; 6. Maple River 155; 7. WEM/JWP 168; 8. NRHEG 171; 9. Medford 236. Incomplete team: M/T/ML.


Individual Results: 5. Vanessa Whitehead 19:03; 8. Jasmine Longley 19:51.


Individual Results: 3. Matt Holm 20:17; 5. Dawson Burkhardt 20:24; 6. Kolton Larson 20:25; 7. Brandon Kluver 20:33; 8. Carson Kahler 20:45; 10. Dylan Peterson 20:53.