Wegner maintains top spot

FAIRMONT – Jeremy Wegner doubled his trips to Victory Lane at Fairmont Raceway on Friday night, and extended his points lead to seven in the process.

Wegner joined stock car driver Derek Green as a double-winner at the area racing circuit by steering his hobby stock to first-place finishes in both Heat 2 and the class’ feature race.

Wegner, who races out of Graettinger, Iowa, holds a seven-point edge over Welcome’s Jeff Senne. Senne placed third in the main event after winning the division’s first heat race.

Green claimed top honors in the stock car division’s first heat race before taking the checkered flag in the feature competition.

Stock car points leader Luke Sathoff of Jackson captured a fourth-place finish in the main event, while Ken Tietz placed second in the feature. Tietz trails Sathoff in the seasonal points standings by 25.

Winnebago’s Doug Jenkins pocketed top honors in Heat 2 of the stock car competition.

In modified action, Armstrong’s Eric Dailey drove to a first-place finish in the main event, crossing the line ahead of points leader Josh Meyer of Fairmont. Meyer extended his seasonal points margin to 10 over Fairmont’s Roger Nielsen, who placed 14th in the main event.

Lakefield’s Dwaine Hanson, Wells’ Jeff Ignaszewski and James Slawson of Milford, Iowa, rounded out the modified class’ heat winners.

Emmetsburg sport mod racer Greg Sidles followed a second-place showing to Wells’ Mark Garver in the first heat race with a winning performance in the class’ feature competition.

Sidles crossed the line ahead of Kasson’s Travis Greenfield in the main event. Greenfield trails points leader Matthew Looft of Swea City by 45 points. Looft posted a fifth-place feature finish.

Fairmont’s Carter Shumski and Sherburn’s Ben Chukuske took the checkered flags in the sport mod class’ second and third heat races, respectively.

Compact points leader Nate Coopman of Mankato won the lone heat race before placing second to Delavan’s Duwayne Berndt in the feature race.

Coopman holds a 29-point leader over Granada’s Colby Lyons, who claimed fourth in the main event.

Racing resumes at Fairmont Raceway on Friday.


(Aug. 2 Results)


Heat 1: 1. Dwaine Hanson (Lakefield); 2. Oliver Kollofski (Fairmont); 3. Mat Hollerich (Good Thunder); 4. Josh Meyer (Fairmont); 5. Andrew Timm (Mankato); 6. Travis Peterson (Mapleton); 7. Josh Rogotzke (Sanborn).

Heat 2: 1. Jeff Ignaszewski (Wells); 2. Josh Ruby (Lakota, Iowa); 3. Travis DeBoer (Fairmont); 4. Justin Anderson (Lewisville); 5. Nate Zimmerman (Janesville); 6. Roger Nielsen (Fairmont); 7. Mark Nobles (Blooming Prairie).

Heat 3: 1. James Slawson (Milford, Iowa); 2. Billy Johnson (St. Peter); 3. Mark Gartner (Mapleton); 4. Jeffrey Larson (Lakefield); 5. Eric Dailey (Armstrong); 6. Denny Anderson (Rochester).

Feature: 1. Eric Dailey (Armstrong); 2. Meyer; 3. Kollofski; 4. Ruby; 5. Slawson; 6. Timm; 7. DeBoer; 8. Rogotzke; 9. T. Peterson; 10. J. Anderson; 11. Ignaszewski; 12. Nobles; 13. Gartner; 14. Nielsen; 15. Zimmerman; 16. D. Anderson; 17. J. Larson; 18. B. Johnson; 19. Hanson; 20. Hollerich.


Heat 1: 1. Derek Green (Granada); 2. Jerry Coopman (Mankato); 3. Dustin Larson (Worthington); 4. Jim Larson (Rushmore); 5. Al Thoms (Fairmont); 6. Brad Malmanger (Fairmont); 7. Jeremy Olson (Mapleton).

Heat 2: 1. Doug Jenkins (Winnebago); 2. Luke Sathoff (Jackson); 3. Jesse Olson (Mayer); 4. Dan Thate (Fairmont); 5. Ken Tietz (Belle Plaine); 6. Scott Adams (Blue Earth).

Feature: 1. Derek Green (Granada); 2. Tietz; 3. J. Larson; 4. Sathoff; 5. Malmanger; 6. Thoms; 7. Coopman; 8. Jenkins; 9. Adams; 10. Thate; 11. Jeremy Olson; 12. Jesse Olson; 13. D. Larson.


Heat 1: 1. Mark Garver (Wells); 2. Greg Sidles (Emmetsburg); 3. Kyle Steuber (Fairmont); 4. Jeff Carter (Mapleton); 5. Joey Lium (Burt, Iowa); 6. Kyle Remus (Sleepy Eye); 7. Eric Boler (Brandon, S.D.).

Heat 2: 1. Carter Shumski (Fairmont); 2. Nathan Chukuske (Sherburn); 3. Randy Winter (Winnebago); 4. Lyle Sathoff (Armstrong); 5. Justin Remus (Sleepy Eye); 6. Matthew Looft (Swea City); 7. Tom Malchow (Hutchinson).

Heat 3: 1. Ben Chukuske (Sherburn); 2. Travis Greenfield (Kasson); 3. Dustin Wiederhoeft (Fairmont); 4. Josh Larson (Glencoe); 5. Justin Schuder (Fairmont); 6. Justin DeBoer (Granada); 7. Derek Shumski (Granada).

Feature: 1. Greg Sidles (Emmetsburg); 2. Greenfield; 3. C. Shumski; 4. Winter; 5. Looft; 6. L. Sathoff; 7. Steuber; 8. Lium; 9. J. Remus; 10. Malchow; 11. Boler; 12. B. Chukuske; 13. DeBoer; 14. J. Larson; 15. N. Chukuske; 16. Schuder; 17. K. Remus; 18. Carter; 19. Garver; 20. Wiederhoeft; 21. D. Shumski.


Heat 1: 1. Jeff Senne (Welcome); 2. Rex Hammerschmidt (Bingham Lake); 3. Aaron Hansen (Dolliver, Iowa); 4. Justin Luinenburg (Reading); 5. Chad Taylor (Fairmont); 6. Dan Ricard (Winnebago).

Heat 2: 1. Jeremy Wegner (Graettinger, Iowa); 2. Ben Peterson (Northrop); 3. Tyler Igneszewski (Alden); 4. Travis Werner (Fairmont); 5. Logan Kelly (Fairmont).

Feature: 1. Jeremy Wegner (Graettinger, Iowa); 2. Luinenburg; 3. Senne; 4. Ignaszewski; 5. Hansen; 6. Taylor; 7. Peterson; 8. Ricard; 9. Werner; 10. Hammerschmidt; 11. Kelly.


Heat 1: 1. Nate Coopman (Mankato); 2. Blaney Markman (Jackson); 3. Duwayne Berndt (Delavan); 4. Nathan Sukalski (Fairmont); 5. Colby Lyons (Granada).

Feature: 1. Duwayne Berndt (Delavan); 2. Coopman; 3. Markman; 4. Lyons; 5. Sukalski.