Area cagers net all-Valley Conference honors

SHERBURN – Martin County West netted nine selections to pace the area basketball contingent’s 19 student-athletes named to the 2013 all-Valley Conference teams.

Maverick mentor Cliff Anderson’s entire starting boys lineup earned all-conference honors, while Martin County West head girls basketball coach Rodger Taylor’s team claimed four total spots.

Senior power forward Austin Krumwiede, senior center Kyle Brolsma, senior point guard Mitch Sitzmann and junior guard Cordell Weber represented conference runner-up Martin County West on the first team, while junior forward Jake Faber received honorable mention status.

Junior forward Kate Thiesse, sophomore guard Taryn Tumbleson and senior point guard Morgan Williamson garnered first-team all-Valley Conference honors, while sophomore forward Madyson Larson netted honorable mention status for Taylor’s runner-up Mavericks.

Martin Luther senior point guard Effie Bentz, along with Granada-Huntley-East Chain senior point guard Amanda Cegelske and freshman center Rachel Shumski, rounded out the area first-team girls selections.

GHEC senior forward Anna Balcom, Martin Luther junior forward Kayley Shoen and Truman junior forward Emily Zaharia each were named honorable mention all-conference.

GHEC senior guard Dylan Petrowiak and Truman/Martin Luther senior guard Cade Ekstrom collected first-team honors on the boys’ side, while Truman/Martin Luther junior forward Sam Geistfeld and GHEC senior forward Konnor Kristenson were tabbed honorable mention.



1st Team

Martin County West: Kate Thiesse, Taryn Tumbleson and Morgan Williamson.

Granada-Huntley-East Chain: Amanda Cegelske and Rachel Shumski.

Martin Luther: Effie Bentz.

Mankato Loyola: Aunikah Bastian, Lindsey Theuninck, Annie Nawrocki and Alyssa Mettler.

LCWM: Megan Schroeder.

Nicollet: Katelyn Skrien and Kayla Giefer.

Alden-Conger: Taylor Martin and Ariel Keller.

St. Clair: Chelsea Schull and Katelyn Weber.

Cleveland: Taylor Holicky.

Honorable Mention: Jordyn Theuninck (Loyola), Jordyn Strachan (Loyola), Becca Norgren (LCWM), Josie Ostermann (Maple River), Anna Balcom (GHEC), Courtney Struss (Nicollet), Emily Zaharia (Truman), Madyson Larson (MCW), Cinthia Sotelo (Madelia), Karina Skov (Alden-Conger), Kayley Shoen (Martin Luther) and Cylie Hankins (Cleveland).


1st Team

MCW: Austin Krumwiede, Mitch Sitzmann, Cordell Weber, Kyle Brolsma.

GHEC: Dylan Petrowiak.

Truman/Martin Luther: Cade Ekstrom.

Maple River: Jaron Denn, Michael Lewis, Ben Larson and Zach Krengel.

LCWM: Lucas Hesser, Bryson Yackel, Sam Krahling and Michael Coates.

St. Clair: Ryan Kruse.

Cleveland: Tommy Kraft.

Loyola: Carson Seifert and Connor Tanhoff.

Honorable Mention: Brian Doering (Maple River), Jonah Breiter (Maple River), Jake Faber (MCW), Tyler Fandrich (St. Clair), Gabe Gimenez (LCWM), Jack Bergeman (Madelia), Sam Geistfeld (Truman/Martin Luther), Konnor Kristenson (GHEC), Matt Erickson (Alden-Conger), Matt Christenson (Nicollet), Josh Plonsky (Cleveland) and Alex Piementel (Loyola).