B.E. Area trio advances to state tourney

BLUE EARTH – A trio of Blue Earth Area Bucs finished in the top two spots of the Section 2A individual meet on Saturday in Blue Earth to claim bids in the Class A Individual State Wrestling Tournament, with the opening round starting at 1 p.m. on Friday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Kysten Zierke claimed the 195-pound championship, while Carter Hanson and Gus Phillips nabbed the second-place finishes in the 160 and 170-pound brackets to claim state bids.

Zierke, the Class A, No. 4-ranked 195-pounder, took one minute and 32 seconds to get past his first two opponents in the bracket before taking down Maple River’s Tyler Olson 3-1 in the championship match in overtime.

The lone Buc champion, pinned St. Clair/Loyola’s Ben Grabowska in 29 seconds in the quarterfinals before pinning New Richland/Hartland/Ellendale/Geneva’s Keith Maxon at 1:02 in the semis.

Zierke led 1-0 going into the third period of the championship match, before Olson took a point with just under a minute remaining to even the score.

Neither wrestler managed a point in the final minute of regulation, sending the match into overtime. Zierke was able to strike first, taking down Olson and gaining control for the two-point victory.

Hanson, the Class A, No. 7-ranked 160-pounder, cruised to 15-0, technical fall victories in his first two matches of the section meet, before falling to Class A, No. 4-ranked 160-pounder Keegan Moore from Jackson County Central at 2:44 in the 160-pound championship.

Hanson shut out Blooming Prairies’ Brett Miller, 15-0, in the quarterfinal match and then followed that with another 15-0 shutout, of the Panthers’ Nick Bartness in the semis.

Bartness lost in the 160-pound third-place match to Nick Von Ruden from Medford in a 5-4 decision, forcing Hanson to wrestle a true-second match for a trip to state.

Hanson battled against Von Ruden in the match for second place and earned the 11-5 victory.

Phillips pinned Southland’s Cole Erie in 34 seconds in his quarterfinal match of the 170-pound bracket for his first win of a pair of victories.

Phillips then outlasted the Panthers’ Dillion Parpart 6-4 in overtime in the semifinal match to reach the final.

Phillips faced the Class A, No. 1-ranked 170-pounder, Darick Vancura in the final.

The top-ranked Huskie pinned Phillilps in 26 seconds to take the title, giving Phillips second place.

Mike Ankeny, Jesse Alleven, David Franta and Martin Granados each finished one place shy of a state tournament bid, claiming third-place honors.

Ankeny reached the semis of the 132-pound bracket after pinning Medford’s Javis Von Ruden in the quarterfinals, but was pinned by Class A, No. 4-ranked 132-pounder Dylan Herman from United South Central at 1:23 in the semifinal.

Ankeny responded by pinning the Blooming Prairie’s Mitchell Oswald in 59 seconds and the Panthers’ Dustin Burshem at 1:59 in the third-place match.

Alleven defeated the Eagles’ Zak Walters in an 11-2 major decision in the 138-pound quarterfinals before losing an 8-3 decision to the Cyclones’ Dylan Boettcher in the semis.

Alleven came back to claim two victories, pinning the Blooming Prairie’s Michael Wytaske at 2:22 and the Panthers’ Allen Zimmerman at 3:42 for the third-place finish.

Franta pinned the Blooming Prairie’s Riley Olson at 1:04 in the 152-pound quarterfinals before the Class A, No. 8-ranked 152-pounder Chance Oftedahl shut him out 3-0 in the semifinal match.

Franta earned two more wins, a 20-5 technical fall victory over the Rebels’ Seth Olson and his second pin of Schoneck at 2:38 for the win in the third-place match.

Class A, No. 3-ranked 285-pounder, Granados pinned Southland’s Dominq Bouska at 1:35 in the quarterfinals before the Panthers’ Wyatt Fitterer pressed the Buc’s shoulders to the mat at 4:47 in the semifinal match.

Granados claimed two more victories, pinning the Eagles’ Luke Krengel in 23 seconds and the Huskies’ Nate Horn at 5:36 for the third-place finish.

Section 2A Individuals

at Blue Earth Area

106: Champion: Seth Elwood (Medford) dec. Dominic Alger (USC), 6-0. True second: Cordell Peterson (NRHEG) maj. dec. Alger, 17-5. 3rd: Peterson pinned Dalton Wagner (JCC), 0:59. 5th: Derek Moore (MR) dec. Zach Buseman (BEA). 6-0.

113: Champion: Zack Kuhns (MR) dec. Kyle Edlin (JCC), 4-0. True second: Dillion Kubiatowicz (NRHEG) dec. Edlin, 5-4. 3rd: Kubiatowicz maj. dec. Adam Knutson (USC), 11-1. 5th: Camden Bowers (BEA) pinned Nathan Miexner (Medford), 0:31.

120: Champion: Jordan Biehn (JCC) maj. dec. Jacob Gonsalez (USC), 11-1. 3rd: Marcus DeLeon (Medford) pinned Palmer Peterson (NRHEG), 1:24. 5th: Matt Goodrich (BEA) pinned Brody Carlson (BP), 2:49.

126: Champion: Tyler Keller (Medford) dec. Cameron Henning (JCC), 7-3. True second: Henning maj. dec. Russell Caldwell (MR), 16-4. 3rd: Caldwell dec. Bryce Flowers (STC/L), 8-3. 5th: Jordan Stelter (BEA) pinned Shawn Redman (USC), 3:00.

132: Champion: Eliot Jurries (JCC) dec. Dylan Herman (USC), 8-2. 3rd: Michael Ankeny (BEA) pinned Dustin Burshem (NRHEG), 1:59. 5th: Javis Von Ruden (Medford) pinned Mitchell Oswald (BP), 0:47.

138: Champion: Derek Herman (USC) pinned Dylan Boettcher (STC/L), 1:40. 3rd: Jesse Alleven (BEA) pinned Allen Zimmerman (NRHEG), 3:42. 5th: Michael Wytaske (BP) dec. Zak Walters (MR), 11-4.

145: Champion: Paden Moore (JCC) maj. dec. Aaron Trio (MR), 12-4. True second: Trio dec. Tyler Logan (NRHEG), 2-0. 3rd: Logan dec. Luke Schavey (BEA), 3-2. 5th: Kyle Wililamson (BP) dec. Matt Harpestad (USC), 9-4.

152: Champion: Luke Norland (JCC) maj. dec. Chance Oftedahl (STC/L), 13-2. 3rd: David Franta (BEA) pinned Kyle Schoneck (MR), 2:38. 5th: Seth Olson (USC) maj. dec. Trey Hoppe (NRHEG), 9-1.

160: Champion: Keegan Moore (JCC) pinned Carter Hanson (BEA), 2:44. True second: Hanson dec. Nick Von Ruden (Medford), 11-5. 3rd: Von Ruden dec. Nick Bartness (NRHEG), 5-4. 5th: Brett Miller (BP) pinned Andrew Beck (MR), 3:55.

170: Champion: Darick Vancura (JCC) pinned Gus Phillips (BEA), 0:26. 3rd: Dillon Parpart (NRHEG) dec. Gage Thom (STC/L), 8-4. 5th: Trevor Grems (Medford) pinned Lukas Trio (MR), 1:19.

182: Champion: Colten Carlson (USC) pinned Tanner Menke (JCC), 1:52. 3rd: Mitch Stoltzman (MR) pinned Cody Ripka (NRHEG), 3:46. 5th: Chris Ramos (BEA) dec. Zach Nirk (BP), 7-2.

195: Champion: Kysten Zierke (BEA) dec. Tyler Olson (MR), 3-1 OT. 3rd: Nate Guggisberg (JCC) pinned Keith Maxon (NRHEG), 4:17. 5th: Issac Hernandez (USC) dec. Braden Reuter (SOUTH), 12-11.

220: Champion: Nathan Elzen (Medford) dec. Logan Sonnek (USC), 9-4. 3rd: Todd Erickson (NRHEG) pinned Casey Decker (MR), 1:35. 5th: Blake Arett (BP) pinned Jack Ziemer (JCC), 5:34.

285: Champion: Jarrod Grunklee (BP) pinned Wyatt Fitterer (NRHEG), 2:55. 3rd: Martin Granados (BEA) pinned Nate Horn (JCC), 5:36. 5th: Dominq Bouska (SOUTH) pinned Luke Krengel (MR), 0:47.