Red Bulls place 2nd at Valley

ST. CLAIR – Fairmont/Martin County West junior and Class AA, No. 8-ranked 152-pounder Joe Weber claimed the lone individual championship for the Red Bulls to help lead the team to a 162 point second-place finish behind the Class A, No. 6 ranked Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial (208.5) on Friday at the Valley Conference meet in St. Clair.

Weber defeated Class A, No. 8-ranked Chance Oftedahl 5-4 in the 152-pound championship for the first-place finish. After pinning Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther’s Jesus Lopez with two seconds left in the first period in the opening match, Weber followed that up with a pin of the Knights’ Dylan Keck at 1:59 to reach the final.

Class AA, No. 1-ranked 106-pounder Trevor Schultz was runner up in the 106-pound bracket, falling at 1:59 to the Knights’ Brandon Laborde in the final.

Schultz pinned St. Clair’s Dylan Rasmussen in 46 seconds to win his opening-round match and pinned Maple River’s Derek Moore in the second round in 53 seconds to reach the championship.

The Jayhawks’ Class A, No. 8-ranked 132-pounder Bryon Forstner won finished first, winning a 16-5 major decion in the 132-pound final over the Eagles’ Zak Walters.

Forstner earned a first-round bye before claiming an 18-3 technical fall victory over the Knights’ Jared Vanryswyk in the semifinal match.

Jon Whitney claimed an upset victory at 145, downing the Class A, No. 7 ranked 138-pounder Aaron Trio from Maple River 9-8 for the championship.

Whitney defeated the Knights’ Tanner Elliot in the second round 6-5 after an opening round bye.

Trio also earned an opening-round bye and followed that with a pin of the Red Bulls’ Tanner Lange in the semifinal match at 3:45 to reach the final.

Lange edged the Knights’ in a 4-3 decision for third place in the 145 bracket.

Class A, No. 1-ranked 160-pounder Adam Cooling took a 26-10 technical fall victory over the Knights’ Ari Hamitz to claim the first-place finish in the 160-pound bracket.

Cooling opened up with a bye and then pinned the Red Bulls’ Brock Burmeister at 1:27 in his second match to reach the final.

Burmeister pinned the Eagles’ Andrew Beck at 3:45 in the first round before losing to Cooling, but went on to claim third-place honors. Burmeister won the 9-3 decision in the third-place match, defeating the Cyclones Jordan Schmitz.

Class A, No. 10-ranked 195-pounder Tyler Olson from Maple River snuck past the Red Bulls’ Kory Brown 4-3 in the 195-pound championship match to take the crown.

Brown, who defeated the Cyclones Ben Grabwoska by fall at 1:28 in the opening round proceeded to pin the Knight’s Jesse Gunderson in the semifinals to advance to the championship match for a second-place finish.

Red Bulls’ Luis Figueroa won his second-round match, pinning the Cyclones Tanner Hauser at 4:46 after a first-round bye, advancing him into the final.

The Knights’ Nick Meixell pinned Figueroa in the final at 3:05 to take the championship, earning the Red Bull second-place honors.

Class A, No. 1-ranked 285-pounder Lance Briard from River Valley held off Class AA, No. 3-ranked Colton Hines 12-3 to claim the 285-pound championship.

Hines took a first-round bye and advanced to the final, pinning the Knights’ Lucas Gens at 2:28 in the second round.

The Jayhawks’ Jerimiah Colon claimed third-place honors in the 113-pound bracket. He opened up the meet with a bye and then fell in a 5-3 decision to the Knight’s Caleb Davis.

Colon then rebounded, pinning the Wildcats’ Tyson Meidl in the consolation semifinal in 47 seconds before pinning the Red Bulls’ Chris Ettesvold at 1:36 for third-place honors.

Ettesvold recieved a first-round bye before falling to Class A, No. 6-ranked 113-pounder Zack Kuhns from Maple River at 3:04 in the semifinals.

Kuhns went on to pin the Knights’ Davis at 1:53 in the 113-pound final.

The Red Bulls’ Elijah Gronewold claimed third-place honors in the 126-pound bracket, pinning the Knights’ Devan Hagge at 1:38 in the third-place match.

Gronewold pinned the Jayhawks’ Isaac Pfeffer at 42 seconds in the opening round before falling to the Wildcats’ Sam Baier in a 7-0 decsion in the semifinals.

Harley Luhmann also nabbed a third-place finish for the Red Bulls, pinning the Jayhawks’ Justing Gifferson at 3:35 in the third-place match of the 138-pound bracket.

Luhmann opened the meet with a first-round bye before falling in 46 seconds to the Knights’ Class A, No. 1-ranked 138-pounder Tanner Trembley in the semifinals.

Gifferson recieved an opening-round bye but fell to the Wildcats’ Alexis Flores at 2:51 in the second round.

Trembley went on to claim a 12-1 major decision victory to win the championship over Flores.

The Jayhawks Stevie Tierney pinned the Red Bulls’ Nathan Gillis at 3:01 to claim third-place honors in the 170-pound bracket.

Tierney lost 10-7 to the Cyclones’ Gage Thom in the second round, before downing Gillis in the consolation bracket.

Gillis lost his second-round match in a 20-5 technical fall against the Knights’ Davantay Corey before facing off against Tierney.

The Fairmont/Martin County West Red Bulls travel to New Ulm today for the South Central Conference meet.

Valley Conference Meet

Team Results

1. Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial 208.5, 2. Fairmont/Martin County West 162, 3. Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther 144, 4. Maple River 132.5, 5. River Valley 94, 6. St. Clair 53.5.

Individual Results

106: Champion: Brandon Laborde (LCWM) pinned Trevor Schultz (F/MCW), 1:59. 3rd Place: Mario Gomez (RV) dec. Cole Pietsch (MTML), 8-0.

113: Champion: Zack Kuhns (MR) pinned Caleb Davis (LCWM), 1:53. 3rd Place: Jerimiah Colon (MTML) pinned Chris Ettesvold (F/MCW), 1:36.

120: Champion: Louie Sanders (LCWM) pinned Conner Bertram (RV), 0:56. 3rd Place: Conner Bertram (RV) dec. Prince Bade (MR), 7-4.

126: Champion: Russel Caldwell (MR) dec. Sam Baier (RV), 6-2. 3rd Place: Elijah Gronewold (F/MCW) pinned Devan Hagge (LCWM), 1:38.

132: Champion: Bryon Forstner (MTML) maj. dec. Zak Walters (MR), 16-5. 3rd Place: Jared Vanryswyk (LCWM) dec. Gerritt Meidl (RV), 4-2.

138: Champion: Tanner Trembley (LCWM) maj. dec. Alexis Flores (RV), 12-1. 3rd Place: Harley Luhmann (F/MCW) pinned Justin Gifferson (MTML), 3:35.

145: Champion: Jon Whitney (MTML) dec. Aaron Trio (MR), 9-8. 3rd Place: Tanner Lange (F/MCW) dec. Tanner Elliot (LCWM), 4-3.

152: Champion: Joe Weber (F/MCW) dec. Chance Oftedahl (STC), 5-4. 3rd Place: Dylan Keck (LCWM) pinned Kyle Schoneck (MR) 2:13.

160: Champion: Adam Cooling (MTML) tech. fall Ari Hamitz (LCWM), 26-10. 3rd Place: Brock Burmeister (F/MCW) dec. Jordan Schmitz (STC), 9-3.

170: Champion: Davantay Corey (LCWM) dec. Gage Thom (STC), 5-2. 3rd Place: Stevie Tierney (MTML) pinned Nathan Gillis (F/MCW), 3:01.

182: Champion: Tim Krueger (RV) dec. Mitch Stoltzman (MR), 5-2. 3rd Place: Shane Nelson (LCWM) pinned Jake Korteum (MTML), 5:32.

195: Champion: Tyler Olson (MR) dec. Kory Brown (F/MCW), 4-3. 3rd Place: Jesse Gunderson (LCWM) won by injury default.

220: Champion: Nick Meixell (LCWM) pinned Luis Figueroa (F/MCW), 3:05. 3rd Place: Tanner Hauser (STC) dec. Jeremy Blakesley (MTML), 9-2.

285: Champion: Lance Briard (RV) maj. dec. Colton Hines (F/MCW), 12-3. 3rd Place: Lucas Gens (LCWM) won by injury default.