B.E. Area locks up SCC title

BLUE EARTH – The Blue Earth Area Bucs clinched the South Central Conference dual meet wrestling championship on Friday night with a 78-0 victory over the New Ulm Eagles in Blue Earth.

The Bucs opened the meet with five straight pins to claim an early lead.

Zach Buseman took 4:46 to pin Hunter Ranweiler at 106 pounds before Camden Bowers took the victory over Tanner Stark with a pin at 3:47 at 113.

Matt Goodrich and Jordan Stelter then combined for back-to-back pins in under a minute in the 120- and 126-pound matches. Goodrich pinned Elijah Northquist in 23 seconds, while Stelter took 55 seconds to pin Austin Iles.

Mike Ankeny finished the pin parade with a 36-second victory over Max Deslauriers at 132.

David Franta then claimed a pin for a win at 152, putting Sam Hoppe’s shoulders to the mat at 1:41.

Class A, No. 5-ranked 160-pounder Carter Hanson claimed a technical fall victory over Nathan Janke at 160 in 1:41.

Kysten Zierke joined the pin parade with a victory over Lorenzo Hernandez at 195 by winning in just 1:02.

Class A, No. 9-ranked heavyweight Martin Granados finished the meet sweep of victories for the Bucs, pinning Andy Bregel with 1 second left in the first period of the 285-pound match.

Blue Earth Area (21-4, 5-0 SCC) travels to Sherburn to wrestle in the Red Bull Invite at 10 a.m. today.

Blue Earth Area 78, New Ulm 0

106: Zach Buseman (BEA) pinned Hunter Ranweiler, 4:46. 113: Camden Bowers (BEA) pinned Tanner Stark, 3:47. 120: Matt Goodrich (BEA) pinned Elijah Northquist, 0:23. 126: Jordan Stelter (BEA) pinned Austin Iles, 0:55. 132: Mike Ankeny (BEA) pinned Max Deslauriers, 0:36. 138: Jesse Alleven (BEA) maj. dec. Jagger Hoffman, 9-1. 145: Luke Schavey (BEA) dec. Austin Brandes, 5-2. 152: David Franta (BEA) pinned Sam Hoppe, 1:41. 160: Carter Hanson (BEA) tech. fall Nathan Janke, 1:41. 170: Gus Phillips (BEA) won by forfeit. 182: Chris Ramos (BEA) won by forfeit. 195: Kysten Zierke (BEA) pinned Lorenzo Hernandez, 1:02. 220: Micah Twedt (BEA) won by forfeit. 285: Martin Granados (BEA) pinned Andy Bregel, 1:59.

USC Triangular

The Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther Jayhawks captured a split decision during triangular action on Thursday night in Wells.

The Jayhawks beat Winona/ Winona Cotter 54-22 before the host United South Central Rebels beat the visitors in blue-and-orange 54-18 in the second dual.

Cole Pietsch had a big night for the Jayhawks, as he claimed a 13-0 major decision victory over the Winhawks’ Jack Vaselaar at 106, and then followed that with a 6-5 upset win over the Rebels’ Class A, No. 3-ranked 106-pounder Dominic Alger in the 106-pound match.

The Jayhawks’ Zachary Peterson pinned the Winhawks’ Evan Mohan at 1:24 in the 138-pound match and Jon Whitney followed his teammates lead, winning a 15-4 major decision over Jake Timm in the 152-pound match.

In the 195-pound match, Jake Denn also claimed a major decision win, downing Josh Kruger 23-9, before Derek Firchau pinned the Winhawks’ Foster Zittle just 1:08 into the 220-pound match.

Justin Gifferson (132), Jesus Lopez (152), Jake Kortuem (170), Thomas Timm (182) and Jeremy Blakesly (285) each won their matches for the Jayhawks by forfeit.

Pietsch claimed his second win with a victory over the Rebels’ Dominic Alger at 106 in the second dual of the night.

Stevie Tierney pinned USC’s Teegun Sunde midway through the second period at 160, pressing his shoulders down at 2:59.

The Jayhawks’ Class A, No. 1-ranked 160-pounder Adam Cooling won a 9-3 decision over USC’s Class A, No. 6-ranked 182-pounder Colten Carlson in the 182-pound match to help the visitors’ cause.

Derek Firchau claimed the only other Jayhawk win, pinning Joe Matthews at 2:51 in the 285-pound match.

Class A, No. 4-ranked 132-pounder Dylan Herman from USC won the 132-pound match, pinning Gifferson at 1:33 to help the Rebels in their winning efforts.

Derek Herman, the Class A, No. 5-ranked 138-pounder won the 145-pound match, downing Whitney in a 3-0 decision.

Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther will wrestle again in the Valley Conference Meet that starts on Friday at 2 p.m. in St. Clair.

Madelia/Truman/Martin Luther 54, Winona/Winona Cotter 22

106: Cole Pietsch (MTML) maj. dec. Jack Vaselaar, 13-0. 113: Tristan Drazkowski (W/WC) pinned Grant Koehler, 1:02. 120: Chase Pomery (W/WC) won by forfeit. 126: Will Krageschmidt (W/WC) pinned Issac Pfeffer, 5:44. 132: Justin Gifferson (MTML) won by forfeit. 138: Zachary Peterson (MTML) pinned Evan Mohan, 1:24. 145: Jon Whitney (MTML) maj. dec. Jake Timm, 15-4. 152: Jesus Lopez (MTML) won by forfeit. 160: Chris Wisted (W/WC) maj. dec. Stevie Tierney, 13-5. 170: Jake Kortuem (MTML) won by forfeit. 182: Thomas Timm (MTML) won by forfeit. 195: Jake Denn (MTML) maj. dec. Josh Kruger, 23-9. 220: Derek Firchau (MTML) pinned Foster Zittel, 1:08. 285: Jeremy Blakesly (MTML) won by forfeit.

USC 54, M/T/ML 18

106: Cole Pietsch (MTML) dec. Dominic Alger, 6-5. 113: Adam Knutson (USC) pinned Grant Koehler, 0:17. 120: Brett Byrne (USC) won by forfeit. 126: Jacob Gonsalez (USC) pinned Issac Pfeffer, 2:12. 132: Dylan Herman (USC) pinned Justin Gifferson, 1:33. 138: Matt Harpestad (USC) pinned Zachary Peterson, 2:34. 145: Derek Herman (USC) dec. Jon Whitney, 3-0. 152: Corey Ehlert (USC) pinned Jesus Lopez, 4:38. 160: Stevie Tierney (MTML) pinned Teegun Sunde, 2:59. 170: Travis Brown (USC) pinned Jake Kortuem, 1:42. 182: Adam Cooling (MTML) dec. Colten Carlson, 9-3. 195: Logan Sonnek (USC) dec. Jake Denn, 3-2. 220: Isaac Hernandez (USC) pinned Jeremy Blakesly, 3:42. 285: Derek Firchau (MTML) pinned Joe Matthews, 2:51.